Simple Montana Life

….charting my journey to a more self sufficient way of life….

Winter Lentil Soup December 14, 2011

Filed under: Recipes — Leah @ 7:44 pm

One of my favorite parts of the holiday season is snuggling up in a warm home, surrounded by people you love, listening to Christmas music and sharing a delicious meal! Problem is, I don’t like to repeat meals, so I am always looking for new recipes! In an effort to introduce the ever so popular “superfood” Kale into my diet, I ran across a recipe that I just had to try! And boy am I glad I did! This soup is a perfect addition to my collection of holiday recipes! This is one I just may want to repeat! Enjoy!

Winter Lentil Soup

1 TBSP olive oil
4 leeks (white and light green parts) cut into 1/4 inch thick half moons
1 28 oz can whole tomatoes (recipe says to drain them, but I did not!)
2 sweet potatoes (I had some regular potatoes to use up, so I substituted the sweet for regular! But sweet would be awesome!)
1 bunch kale, thick stems removed and leaves cut into 1/2 inch wide strips
1/2 cup brown lentils
1 tbsp fresh thyme
kosher salt and black pepper
1/4 cup grated Parmesan (optional)

Directions

1. Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Ad the leeks and cook, stirring occasionally, until they begin to soften, 3 to 4 minutes. Add the tomatoes and cook, breaking them up with a spoon, for 5 minutes.

2. Add 6 cups water and bring to a boil. Stir in the sweet potatoes, kale, lentils, thyme, 1 1/2 tsp salt, and 1/4 tsp pepper. Simmer until the lentils are tender, 25-30 minutes.

3. Spoon into bowls and top with the Parmesan.

 

Leave a Reply

