Simple Montana Life

….charting my journey to a more self sufficient way of life….

Homemade Creamy Tomato Basil Soup! September 18, 2011

Filed under: Recipes — Leah @ 9:14 am

Summer is nearing an end here in Northwest Montana. The days are getting cooler and my garden is slowing down, but still has tons of fabulous fruits and veggies to harvest!

Growing up, I HATED tomatoes!! In my “old age”, it seems I can’t get enough of them! I have also found an out of control love for fresh basil. I put it in anything I possibly can! When I ran across a recipe on a homesteading blog that combined the two ingredients, I HAD to try it! My nieces and I made it the other night and we all loved it! If it can please an 8 and 9 year old, it has to be good! Right?

I found the recipe from ! You will fall in love with this dish! Especially this time of year! YUMMY! (I changed the recipe slightly from what Shaye has on her post. Here is what I did.

Homemade Tomato Basil Soup

You will need:
– 1 28 oz. can crushed or diced tomatoes (You can also use tomatoes from your own harvest!! Woot Woot!)
– 12 oz. chicken broth
– 10 oz. water
– 2 tsp. sugar
– 1 small onion
– 4 cloves garlic
– 1 cup cream
– 1/3 cup fresh basil
– Pinch of salt
– Fresh pepper

Step One: Heat a tablespoon of olive oil or butter in a soup pan. Then, dice up the onion and throw into the warm oil. Chop up 4 cloves of garlic and toss them in with the onions. Cook until just softened, maybe 5 minutes or so.

Step Two: Add the can of tomatoes to the pot, juice and all. Then, add the water, the chicken broth, and the sugar.

Step Three: Heat the soup up to a boil and then let it simmer for ten minutes.

Step Four: Add salt, pepper, and basil to the soup and puree. You can puree with an immersion blender, a regular blender, or a food processor. (Be sure to read the instructions for your blender or food processor for working with hot liquids)

Step Five: One the soup is nice and smooth, put it back on the stove and add the cream. I used about a cup. Warm the soup up again to the temperature of your liking.

 

Leave a Reply

