Simple Montana Life

….charting my journey to a more self sufficient way of life….

Vegetable Soup/Stew Recipe September 11, 2011

Filed under: Recipes — Leah @ 1:14 am

It is such a wonderful time of year.  Summer is winding down, fall is on it’s way, and the holidays are just around the corner.  One of the things I love the most is all the fresh veggies from my garden!  I have been canning all my fresh produce like a mad woman!  It seems to all be ready to harvest around the same time (may need to do a little better planning in that area for next year!)  But as I was canning some Apple Pie Filling this afternoon, and looking around at all the fresh vegetables lying on my counter, waiting to be washed, I thought I would make a little late summer vegetable soup with what I had lying around!  I really just made this up on the fly, but it turned out fabulous, so I thought I would share!

1 lb stew meat (can be beef or venison, just cut into cubes)

3 cups water

1 can beef broth

1 packet beefy onion soup mix

1 can whole corn     *I used fresh, but trying to give you an idea of measurements*

1 can green beans   *I used fresh, but trying to give you an idea of measurements*

1 small onion, chopped

2 cloves chopped garlic

1 cup chopped celery

2-3 chopped carrots

4-5 average sized red potatoes cubed

Salt and pepper to taste

I just put it all in the crock pot on high for about 4 hours!  Turned out wonderfully!!  If you are not typically a fan of venison/wild game, recipes like this may be what you need.  Adding the beef soup mix and beef broth take away from the wild game taste.  Also, rinsing your venison well before cooking helps with the “game-y” taste as well!

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

